Book Review – Even when you lie to me by Jessica Alcott


Hello Bookworms, this YA contemporary was so creative and unique!!

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Romance

Rating: ⭐⭐(2/5 stars)

Publisher: June 9th 2015 by Crown Books for Young Readers

Length: Hardcover, 352 pages

Summary: Charlie is a senior in high school, but she is definitely not looking forward to it. Charlie has always been in the background to her best friend Lila; who is everything she isn’t.  Lila is pretty, funny, and smart. But her entire senior year changes when she meets her new English teacher; Mr. Drummond. Everyone in her class loves him, but she realizes that she has more than a little crush. Even when you lie to me faces intense subjects, and explores the idea of crushes to a whole new level.

Recommendation: When I first grabbed this book off the shelf, I didn’t know what to expect. The plot itself seemed creative and interesting; so it immediately attracted me. But as I got further into the book, the author couldn’t keep me captivated, and allured.  I wanted to skip through the book, because the characters were vague and non-descriptive, and I didn’t seem to understand the message of the book. I would recommend this book to someone who has never read a book with a spin on a romantic plot and is interested in trying new genres. The age I would recommend it to is 14-16, and grades 8-10.

A little about the author:  Jessica Alcott lives with her husband and their two cats. She graduated from Bennington College and has worked at a children’s publisher in the UK. Even When You Lie to Me is her first novel.

“Jessica Alcott’s writing is like a very personal glimpse into your own adolescent diary. Raw, uncomfortable, but still often hilarious.” –Harried Reuter Hapgood, author of The Square Root of Summer
 
“The witty repartee among characters is reminiscent of the dialogue in John Green’s novels or a Gilmore Girls episode.” –School Library Journal
 
“Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.” –Booklist

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.