Book Review – Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell❖


Hello, Bookworms, I know this review may seem like it’s very late, and well it is. The next reviews that I will be posting on my blog for the next month are all books that I want to share my opinion on but haven’t publicly reviewed yet.

Fangirl

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Rating:

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Publisher: Published September 10th 2013 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Length: Kindle Edition, 483 pages

Summary: Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan.. But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving. Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to. Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind? (Goodreads)

Recommendation:  Simply put, Fangirl is a light-hearted, fun and relatable read. This novel was not written to make you feel something, unveil a deep meaning or for profoundly connecting with its characters. Fangirl is a book that ages 14-19 can truly relate to, whether you are applying to college, are very close with a sibling/friend or just love adorable contemporary novels.

Characters:

After reading almost all of Rainbow Rowell’s books, I have learned many things, but the main thing is her characters never disappoint. The main character in this novel is Cath, a lovable, relatable teen who leads this coming of age novel and takes the reader along on her journey. Wren is her twin sister, and crucial so the plot as Cath develops into a young adult, and the sisters form their own identities. Levi, another important character is the exact ~opposite~ of Cath. But… opposites attract, right? All in all, these characters are real and trying to overcome their struggles just like all of us. They expose us to their vulnerabilities, but also reveal their strengths.

Plot:

Let me start by saying, this book is focused mainly on the characters and character development rather than the plot. But even though this is true, the plot structure and development are still significant to the book. The only thing I could critique this novel on is the fact that the plot is slightly underdeveloped, and towards the end, the reader feels like there should be more!! (Well that might be because of how much I enjoyed the book…) Nevertheless, I still dream of a sequel because this book would be SOOOO PERFECT for a sequel ughhhhhhh.

A little about the author:  Rainbow Rowell writes books. Sometimes she writes about adults (ATTACHMENTS and LANDLINE). Sometimes she writes about teenagers (ELEANOR & PARK, FANGIRL and THE SIMON SNOW BOOKS.). But she always writes about people who talk a lot. And people who feel like they’re screwing up. And people who fall in love. (Goodreads)

Praise for Fangirl

“Absolutely captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A funny and tender coming-of-age story that’s also the story of a writer finding her voice…touching and utterly real.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“The magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell’s incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling and triumphant relationships…Fans of Eleanor & Park and other bookish, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own.” —Booklist (starred review)

Thanks for reading! Subscribe for more blog posts, and make sure to comment below if you’ve read this book and how you feel about it.

1 thought on “Book Review – Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell❖”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.