Author Interview – Annie Sullivan☸︎


Hello Bookworms, I LOVE interviewing authors, hearing “inside” info on their book and just chatting with them in general! As apart of this blog tour stop for A Curse of Gold(A Touch of Gold #2) by Annie Sullivan, I am talking with Annie! We talk about the process of writing A Curse of Gold, how she comes up with names for her characters and what she’s been working on!


Genre: YA Fantasy Retelling
Publishing date: September 22nd, 2020

Synopsis : Curses and queens. Pirates and kings. Gods and magic. This highly anticipated sequel to Annie Sullivan’s enchanting A Touch of Gold, the story of the daughter King Midas turned to gold, is the gripping crescendo to this sweeping fantasy adventure. The final saga of a cursed queen, a vengeful Greek god, and a dazzling kingdom in the balance.

After barely surviving thieving, bloodthirsty pirates and a harrowing quest at sea to retrieve her stolen treasure, Kora finds readjusting to palace life just as deadly. Kora’s people openly turn against her, threatening her overthrow as heir to the throne—a cursed queen who has angered Dionysus. When Dionysus puts out a challenge to kill the girl with the golden touch and burn down her kingdom, it’s not just her future on the throne in danger. Kora’s life and entire kingdom are now on contract.

As bold and brave as ever, Kora sets out to find Dionysus, the very person who is trying to kill her, on the mysterious disappearing island of Jipper. Kora has no other choice. If she wants to save her kingdom and have any chance at reversing her father’s curse, she will have to enter into a deadly game with Dionysus, the greatest trickster the world, or the underworld, has ever seen.

A Curse of Gold: Is the highly-anticipated sequel to A Touch of Gold by author Annie Sullivan. Is an enchanting and captivating fantasy adventure/fairy tale retelling, perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Cinder. Is told from the perspective of Kora, King Midas’s daughter and a strong female protagonist. Features a beautifully decorated cover


Erin : How long did it take you to write A Curse of Gold?

Annie: I started writing it after I finished A Touch of Gold. Only, the original book changed so much through various revisions that I basically had to start over when I wrote A Curse of Gold. So overall, I’d say it took me maybe about 4 months to write, and then it had to go through several rounds of edits. However, I did have to turn in an outline to my publisher first, so that was a new concept for me since I’m a total panster—meaning I don’t typically plot things out when I’m writing and fly by the seat of my pants.

Erin : What behind-the-scenes tidbit in your life would probably surprise your readers the most?

Annie: Oh man, that’s a tough one. It could be that I’ve been to every continent or that I love to look for four leaf clovers or that I’m a forgotten middle child!

Erin : How do you come up with names for your characters?

Annie: Names are super important for me. I typically can’t write a story or move forward if I introduce a new character without knowing their name. To find names, I look at baby name websites, word translation websites, and also just play with adding vowels to different names.

Erin : Who designs the cover; do you get to choose?

Annie: I have different cover designers for my various books, and my publisher picks them out. I typically don’t get a ton of say in the cover, but I’ve been very happy with what I’ve gotten! I especially love the crown on the cover of A Curse of Gold.

Erin : Give us an insight into your main character. What does she do that is so special?

Annie: Princess Kora is the cursed daughter of King Midas, and she has magic gold powers leftover from when her father turned her to gold as a child. She also has golden skin, and throughout the series, she learns to love herself and the abilities that set her apart. So she’s truly a very unique individual who finds her own inner strength as she goes up against sirens, gorgons, and gods.

Erin : Did you learn anything from writing this book and what was it?

Annie: I really learned to delve deep into a character and see what they want from life. In a sequel, you have to make sure your characters don’t revert to how they were at the beginning of the first book. So you have to be sure that you’re raising the stakes and making the characters reach new heights.

Erin : What’s your favourite a) film; b) album; c) artist?

Annie: A.)  How can I choose??? I love movies so much. So I guess I’ll name a few favorites. I love Beauty and the Beast, A League of Their Own, The Mummy, and pretty much any Disney movie or Jane Austen movie!

B.)  I don’t tend to listen to full albums because I listen to individual songs on repeat when I’m writing. But right now, I am loving Taylor Swift’s Folklore album.

C.)  My all time favorite are the Goo Goo Dolls. But I also love Taylor Swift so much!!!

Erin : What can we expect from you in the future? 

Annie: Oh boy! I’m working on so many things—things that aren’t retellings. But you just never know what’s going to sell in this business, so I’m just writing stories that I love and seeing where they go. I’m hoping to have a first draft of a new YA fantasy novel in the next few months, but writing has been slow lately. But hopefully it’ll pick up soon because this is one of the most fun cast of characters I’ve ever written! 

Annie Sullivan is the author of the young adult novels A Touch of Gold, Tiger Queen, and A Curse of Gold. She lives in Indianapolis, Indiana, and she loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s working as the Senior Copywriter at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. She loves to hear from fans, and you can reach her via the contact form on this website or on Twitter and Instagram.

Website | Twitter Instagram Goodreads | Facebook



GOOD NEWS BOOKWORMS! There is a GIVEAWAY going on for US and Canadian readers! If you were interested in the synopsis or liked the interview, make sure to enter before September 28th! Click THIS LINK!

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you thought of this interview and the book!

5 thoughts on “Author Interview – Annie Sullivan☸︎”

  1. Ooh I haven’t read the first book to this series but the covers are absolutely gorgeous and the author seems so sweet! Definitely looking to add this to my TBR 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.