What it’s actually like travelling to Turkey


Hello Bookworms, this post is all about what you should expect when travelling to Turkey. As someone who is Turkish and has gone to Turkey countless times, I will be busting some common myths, and show you all what to expect.

What to wear?

While I was researching for this post, I was surprised by the fact that almost everyone believes that you need to wear very formal, and modest clothing. I find that to be completely inaccurate. Having gone to Turkey multiple times, I know this is 100% false, but I was astonished to find that some tourists think this will be an issue, and even end up not going because of this. So honestly wear whatever you would wear at home, just keep in mind that it may be very hot and humid depending on where and when you visit.

Is it Safe?

Turkey is just like any other country when you think about its risks. If you don’t put yourself in any obvious dangerous situation than you will be fine.

Where to Go?

Turkey is such a beautiful country, so narrowing this list down to a few destinations is going to be tough. Keep in mind that, there are so many more places to go but I am just listing the popular destinations.

Cappadocia

Cappadocia

Pamukkale (a personal ~favorite~)

Visit the hot springs of Pamukkale | Laval News | thesuburban.com

Antalya

23 Fabulous Things to Do in Antalya, Turkey, Including The Best ...

Istanbul

A Weekend In Istanbul

Thanks for reading! I am Turkish myself, so it gives me great joy in writing about this magnificent country.

Have you ever visited Turkey? Where are your favourite travel destinations?



7 responses to “What it’s actually like travelling to Turkey”

  1. I just saw this four months late but it’s okay. Now I have a sudden desire to travel to Turkey. I love it already! And ahhh Pamukkale looks so gorgeous. I can see why it’s a personal favorite. Loved this post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha no worries! Turkey is the prettiest country I have ever visited (of course i am slightly biased since I am Turkish but still🤗).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can relate. I think Korea’s the prettiest country, but I’m also biased because I’m Korean 🥺🙌

        Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Travel : What it’s actually like travelling to Turkey […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.